Social Studies

egyptian history

2016 Summer Reading List

Connecting to the Community

Check out some of the authentic learning opportunities our students are having both inside and outside of the classroom!

Staff

Dr. Nicole Chiesa
Director of Humanities

Ed.D Northeastern University
J.D. Suffolk Law School
M.Ed. Salem State College
B.A. English and International Relations, Tufts University
nchiesa@medford.k12.ma.us
781-393-9016

Andrews Middle School

David Lamb
Grade 6 Ancient Civilizations
dlamb@medford.k12.ma.us

Frank Zizzo

Grade 7 World Cultures and Geography
fzizzo@medford.k12.ma.us

Kathleen Ware O’Donoghue

Grade 7 World Cultures and Geography

kodonoghue@medford.k12.ma.us

Chris Tremonte

Grade 8 U.S.
ctremonte@medford.k12.ma.us

Ian Levine

Grade 8 U.S. 
History
ilevine@medford.k12.ma.us

Michael Diclemente
Grade 6 Ancient Civilizations
mdiclemente@medford.k12.ma.us

McGlynn Middle School

Amy Burke
Grade 6 Ancient Civilizations
aburke@medford.k12.ma.us

Sean McGillicuddy

Grade 6 Ancient Civilizations

smcgillicuddy@medford.k12.ma.us

Ryan McCarthy

Grade 7 World Geography
 

rmccarthy@medford.k12.ma.us

Brian Villard

Grade 7 World Geography
 

bvillard@medford.k12.ma.us

Allison Quealy

Grade 8 U.S. History
 

aquealy@medford.k12.ma.us

Brett Tiberi
Grade 8 U.S. History
btiberi@medford.k12.ma.us

High School Faculty

Matthew Brophy

World History II, AP European History, Contemporary Issues
 mbrophy@medford.k12.ma.us

Kevin Cullen

World History II, Contemporary Issues
 kcullen@medford.k12.ma.us
Elisabetta Daneu
U.S. History, World History, Comparative Government, Model U.N.
edaneu@medford.k12.ma.us

Nancy Donlon
Psychology, Living in the 21st Century
ndonlon@medford.k12.ma.us

Joe Donlon
World History I, US History
jdonlon@medford.k12.ma.us

Nicholas Kain

World History I, World History II, Contemporary
nkain@medford.k12.ma.us

James McMahon
Law and Government, Contemporary Issues

jmcmahon@medford.k12.ma.us

Andrew Milne

U.S. History, Psychology, Contemporary Issues

amilne@medford.k12.ma.us

Taryn Ross
World History I, Contemporary Issues
tross@medford.k12.ma.us

Jonathan Streff

World History II, U.S. History, U.S. Government and Politics, Civil Rights
jstreff@medford.k12.ma.us

Niklas Tower
US History, Basic Finance, Civics
ntower@medford.k12.ma.us

Scott Volmer

World History I, World History II, U.S. History

Medford Vocational Technical High School 

svolmer@medford.k12.ma.us
http://vochistoryclass.weebly.com/

Debra Stadfeld

World History I, Facing History and Ourselves
Medford High School and Medford Vocational Technical High School
dstadfield@medford.k12.ma.us

Dana Mcmahon
World History I, World History II, Court in the Classroom
dmcmahon@medford.k12.ma.us


Social Studies Department Mission

The Medford Public Schools is committed to providing all students with the academic and problem-solving skills essential for personal development, responsible citizenship and life-long learning. The Social Studies Department’s curriculum goals for all grades are as follows:

  • To provide the educational foundation to prepare students to hold “the office of citizen.”
  • To recognize our binding heritage in a democratic vision of liberty, equality, justice, and the belief that a society can undertake to govern itself though the will of its people.
  • To promote and nurture respect among students for each other, their school, and greater community.
  • To develop awareness, appreciation and understanding of democratic values, precepts and practices.
  • To foster in students the knowledge, skills and commitment to strengthen their community, state, country, and world beyond their school years.